Speciality Department

Medical Physics

Fix An Appointment

The department of medical physics provides scientific and technical services to the following departments:

  • Department of radiation oncology
  • Department of radiology
  • Department of nuclear medicine
  • Other radiation users in the Amrita institutions

The unit is comprised of eight medical physics faculty and has responsibility for the areas of radiation dosimetry, quality control of all radiation producing equipments, treatment planning systems, software control, acceptance testing and commissioning of radiation producing equipment, maintenance of all radiation producing and radiation measuring equipment in proper calibration, and radiation safety.

Medical physics provides clinical radiotherapy physics services to approximately twelve hundred new cancer patients a year and also monitors accurate delivery of all treatments in radiation oncology.